Stand Up! – Don’t Stand for Homophobic Bullying

Irish anti homophobic bullying advertisement, created as part of BeLonG To Youth Services annual Stand Up! LGBT Awareness Weeks. The campaign promotes friendship amongst young people as a way to combat homophobic bullying.
For more information on the campaign please see:
http://www.belongto.org/campaign.aspx
Written & Directed by Anna Rodgers & Aoife Kelleher
Produced by Zlata Filipovic
I thought this wee film was superb … it almost moved me to tears, probably due to the fact that it was so poignant, and has a particular relevance to me as I’ve known two young guys who’ve committed suicide, with homophobic bullying being a major factor in their depression … poverty being another
I posted the film on Facebook, and left a note on a FB page, thanking the lady who’d tipped me off on the clip … and then this FB conversation resulted … I tried so hard to be polite throughout, but ggggrrrrr!!!!

5 thoughts on “Stand Up! – Don’t Stand for Homophobic Bullying

  1. Well, Stu, that was about the most positive four-minutes and 24-seconds I’ve experienced in a long time. As a previous sufferer of bullying myself in my childhood (although not homophobic-related and of course, neither should it matter to what bullying relation it is) I can fully relate and understand this video through experienced eyes, ears and heart.

    Perhaps I was lucky, or blessed, but one thing I did to combat bullying was to turn it around and make people laugh. I know, it sounds oh, so cliché-ey, but I went down the positive road and never suffered any of the things people suffer like: depression, anxiety, drink, drugs and of course, suicide.

    So, to see a comedian post a real-life situation many youngsters (and older ones) have to go through each day brought me back to why I developed a knack for making people laugh…it was bourne out of bullying.

    I have written many things and given talks to people about bullying and it still stuns me – even to this day – that I learned that bullying is a lot worse now than when I was at school.

    If anyone is reading this message who is on the receiving end of bullying of any kind, I do not have any links to offer or any hotline tips but what I will say is this…

    The weak and the vulnerable are often the stronger ones in society but they are being oppressed by others who cannot handle that kind of strength. The ones who are labelled “different” in society are even stronger. The bullies normally do not amount to anything in life because they are so afraid of themselves that they have to take that fear out in others and those others like the “different”, the “weak”, and the “vulnerable”, just happen to light up like an airport runway during a frosty November late evening. Bullies HATE that! Your creativity, your style, your life choosing on any given subject just fuels these bullies with rage. They cannot be like you and they cannot do the things you do so they want to oppress you and bring you down to meet their level and this is just some of the basics in why we have bullies. A bully is a bully for a reason and that reason most likely has hidden issues or an underlying problem with their own psychological balance.

    Bullies cannot handle anything or anyone that may appear superior, stronger, brighter and bigger in all aspects from the physical to the creatively strong. There are many reasons and I am sure a doctor with a white tunic buttoned up the left breast with a stiff pocket housing a gold pen will say something else but that is from my experience and I can only go on my experience alone. I am simply not an expert on bullying.

    I could go on and on about this subject but I will summarize and say this…

    The recipients of bullying come in many shapes, sizes and genres but they all…they ALL…possess one thing and that is a great self-inbuilt mechanism that once it is unleashed and controlled properly it can launch you on the road to greatness.

    If you don’t believe me then just do a Google search for some of the greatest human beings on earth that have been bullied. Ach, I don’t know, maybe type something general like: “Famous people who have been bullied”, or something like that and you will be hugely inspired.

    Bye the way, Stu, your Facebook conversation was interesting to say the least. I had no idea it was a sin to be gay. It might say so in a book of sorts but through my eyes I firmly believe no-one should be on the receiving end of abuse because of who they are and certainly not because of “what” they are.

    Everybody should be allowed to live in peace and not be singled out by their sexuality, their religion, their colour and so forth.

    Peace,

    Stevie

    1. Cheers Stevie

      Bullying, homophobic or otherwise, is horrible and still rife in our wee world … the media most certainly playing it’s part in furthering the sterotypes that help keep it alive, so it’s nice to see a positive message, well-made and damned effective, for a change

      Stu

  2. Thanks, Stu. Your reply is greatly appreciated and you are so right about what you say.

    I am enjoying your site. Lots of good quality content and a nice place to hang around.

    Keep the sound of laughter roaring and your spirits high.

    Stevie

    1. Thanks for the link, Stu. I think I’ve read this before. I clicked, re-read, was well-impressed and left a comment.

      Cheers,
      Stevie

Leave a Reply

