Phil Nichol & Dan Bern

In my earlier post of the splendiferous CORKY & THE JUICE PIGS, I omitted to mention my strange connection with band member Phil Nicol … he who plays guitar, magnificently, and sings melodiously, if manically … the same award-winning actor and stand-up, Phil Nichol, who continues to be one of comedy’s best, and coolest Dudes

.

When we met, and ended up in a marathon “gettin-out-yir-face” session in a Fringe flat, and were eventually the last two still conscious in a room full of lightweights, we observed that we somehow felt we knew each other … or had met previously … but, as it was Corky’s first visit to Scotland, and I’d never visited Canada, where they hail from, it seemed unlikely

.

And then Phil informed me that he had, in fact, been raised in Scotland until his parent’s emigration to Canada when he was a young kid

.

Further investigation revealed that he’d been raised in Cumbernauld of all places … where I still stay to this day.

.

When asked “Where in Numbernauld”, the surprising answer was “Kildrum” … the area of Scumbernauld where I’d stayed in my early years.

.

Phil then inquired if I was the daft guy who used to sit on the outside step of his house, playing acoustic guitar, and who had excessively long hair, and wore a cowboy hat? …. and, horror of horrors, that eejit was in fact ME!! …. And I used to play silly songs for the local kids, and let them strum the geetar, and it turned out that Phil Nichol was one of those kids !!! …. fukkin’ell … howz THAT for a small world?

.

So, I can proudly claim that I actually gave Phil his first guitar lesson … or as near as damn it!!!

.

Over the years, we became firm friends, and he rewarded me with many great nights of comedy, a regular place to bunk in London, and the introduction to many fine people, and much fine music, as Phil is a musical treasure trove of weirdness of a unique and sublime quality

.


.

Here’s one he put me onto … way back then, and who is still a firm favourite of mine … the mighty Dan Bern … check him out … ya won’t regret it

.

http://www.danbern.com/

.

Leave a Reply

